Parish Council election candidates announced.

12 April

This year’s Parish Council election is to be contested as eight candidates chase the seven seats available.

Five of the present councillors seek re-election. These are Gaynor Anning (present Chairman), Andrew Batty (present vice-chair), Neil Ogden, Judith Pentith and Daniel Warren. The three additional candidates standing are Becky Bailey of Allerton Drive, Granville Davies of The Grove and Peter Lord of Church Drive.

No candidate is standing on a political party ticket. The election ballot will be held alongside the General Election on Thursday 7th May 2015.

The two parish councillors standing down and therefore not seeking re-election are Roy Gibbs and John Priestley.

The Parish Council method of local government was established in 1894 for various areas, mainly rural villages. Despite the name there is no connection to the church, the title just referring to the boundary of influence being the parish boundary of the villages concerned. The number of councillors is determined by the size of the village and in East Keswick’s case this is set at seven. Councillors are unpaid and elected for five years at a time.